Ottawa Senators to Host the 2017 Clarkson Cup Final

The CWHL will return to Ottawa in March 2017, when the CWHL’s best two teams put the regular season behind them and compete for the Clarkson Cup on NHL ice at Canadian Tire Centre. The Cup, presented to the CWHL by former Governor General Adrienne Clarkson, is awarded to the winner of the Canadian Women’s Hockey League Championship game each season. The 2016 Clarkson Cup, the first held in an NHL arena, saw more than 4,000 fans watch, as the Calgary Inferno defeated three-time Clarkson Cup champions and regular season champions Les Canadiennes de Montreal 8–3 in the championship game.

In addition to the Clarkson Cup Final, the CWHL will host its full Clarkson Cup Weekend in the Ottawa region. The weekend includes the CWHL Awards Gala (Friday, March 3rd) and CWHL Community Day (Saturday, March 4th), which will once again see the CWHL and its teams working in the Ottawa community to help the event leave a lasting legacy.

“The 2017 CWHL All-Star Game and Clarkson Cup represent the very pinnacle of hockey excellence for the CWHL, and show the very best of our league putting their unsurpassed skill, passion and commitment to the game on display,” CWHL Commissioner Brenda Andress said. “We’re thrilled to once again return to Canadian Tire Centre and we thank the Ottawa Senators for their continued support in hosting this great event.”

Funds from ticket sales for both games will go back to the CWHL to support travel, coaching, equipment, and other team expenses, ensuring the continued growth of the game of women’s professional hockey for the current and future generation of hockey heroines.

Tickets for the Clarkson Cup Final will go on sale later this month.

About the CWHL
The CWHL is the premier, professionally run women’s hockey league in the world: dedicated to raising the profile of the women’s game while providing a place for the best international female hockey players to train and compete. The league is currently comprised of five teams: The Boston Blades, The Brampton Thunder, The Calgary Inferno, Les Canadiennes Montreal and The Toronto Furies. The league is led by CWHL Commissioner Brenda Andress, and the Board of Directors is full of familiar faces committed to the cause, including: Cassie Campbell-Pascall, Brian Burke and Arlene Dickinson.